Text extracted from Math Dept newsletter, Spring 2005:

Dr. Eduardo Sontag was the only faculty member from the New Brunswick/Piscataway campuses to receive the 2005 Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award. The Scholar-Teacher Award was established in 2000 to honor faculty members who have made outstanding synergistic contributions in research and teaching. Dr. Sontag's award was in recognition of his outstanding achievements in the area of control theory, his patient, enthusiastic, and stimulating teaching and his extraordinary ability to motivate students to achieve at the highest level.

        President McCormick Presenting
2005 Teacher/Scholar Award
(click on photo for larger version)
        Another Photo
(click on photo for larger version)